Red Rose in June

A Red, Red Rose

O my Luve’s like a red, red rose
That’s newly sprung in June; 
O my Luve’s like the melodie
That’s sweetly play’d in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
So deep in luve am I:
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry:

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun:
I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare thee well, my only Luve
And fare thee well, a while! 
And I will come again, my Luve,
Tho’ it were ten thousand mile. 

Robert Burns, 1794
Screen Shot 2014-06-05 at 3.57.19 PM
This month’s flower is the rose.
It would make more sense to me for the rose to be February’s flower, but noone asked me so here we are in June with this warm, red flower that makes me think more of a nasty sunburn in this blistering summer sun rather than anything romantic… but I digress.
This universal flower can be found in just about every country around the world since it adapts to any kind of weather.
Rose Facts:
  • The rose is the official National Floral emblem of the United States
  • George Washington, our first President, was also our first U.S. rose breeder
  • The rose is native to the United States. The oldest fossilized imprint of a rose was left on a slate deposit in Florissant, Colorado, which is estimated to be 35 million years old.
  • The oldest garden rose is the Rosa Gallica Officinalis, the apothecary rose
  • The world’s largest rosebush is located in a city named Tombstone in Arizona
  • Columbus’ crew picked a rose branch out of the ocean on October 11, 1492. This signaled the presence of land. The very next day, Columbus discovered America.
  • The queen in Alice in Wonderland prefers red roses… 

paintrosesred

 

Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses this month & try not to melt in this heat!!

 

Forever Floral,

mysignature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

