Mum’s the Word

It’s November and officially holiday season!!

This month’s flower reminds me of my childhood because of this book:

chrysanthemum book

I can’t tell you how many times I had my mom read this to me. I even had the doll, or stuffed mouse, to go along with it. It became one of my favorite flowers (mostly because it was one of the few I was able to identify.. ).

I’m still pretty partial to this flower. I just love how beautiful it is and what it stands for–

  • Etymology: The name “chrysanthemum” is derived from the Greek words chrysos (gold) and anthemon (flower).
  • Symbolizes optimism and joy
  • 13th wedding anniversary flower
  • Official flower of Chicago
  • Celebrated in Japan with “Festival of Happiness” each year

chrys

chrysanthemums chrysanthemum

Chrysanthemum

Aren’t they gorgeous?!

Such a good way to bring cheer during the holidays!

Forever Floral,

mysignature

Leave a comment